Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Wait Ends as PSL 8 Officially Kicks Off with Spectacular Opening Ceremony 

On Monday, in Multan Cricket Stadium, the eighth season of the eagerly anticipated Pakistan Super League (PSL) 8 began with a magnificent and star-studded opening ceremony that enlightened the city of saints.

National Anthem to Kick Start Ceremony

Aima Baig, who was dressed in an ethereal white gown, sang the national anthem to start the event, which provided cricket fans throughout the world a visual treat, thanks to magnificent performances by the well-known musicians and artists.

PSL 8 Anthem

The largest musical anthem of the year was co-written by the biggest names in Pakistan music industry as an effort to create something exquisite. The song, which features excellent musicians like Shae Gill from Coke Studio, Asim Azhar, and rapper Faris Shafi, was composed by upcoming musician Abdullah Siddiqui. After co-writing the “Agay Dekh” for PSL 7 with Atif Aslam and Aima Baig, he composed the PSL 8 anthem for the second consecutive year. The anthem was performed by the aforementioned singers at the opening ceremony and is considered as one of the ceremony’s highlights. Sahir Ali Bagga, a renowned composer, and a talented singer; Aima Baig both performed for the crowd later.


HBL CEO Addressed the Crowd

The event’s keynote speaker, Muhammad Aurangzeb, the President and CEO of Habib Bank Limited (HBL), praised the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for holding the competition for the eighth time. “Having the inaugural match in Multan this evening is a historic first,” he stated. HBL PSL has grown stronger over time. A deliberate effort has been made by all the parties involved to make this successful.

Let the Game Begin; Najam Sethi

Najam Sethi displayed the enormous replica of this year’s trophy on the stage. Sethi is the head of the panel regulating the cricket board’s activities until a chairman is elected. He declared, “We will visit Quetta and Peshawar next year,” adding that the PSL has contributed greatly and been a source of joy for all. We are proud that this has grown to be a global brand. This year, ” few foreign and local players are making their debuts,” he continued.

He mentioned how the league has provided the national team some of the amazing players like Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Hasan Ali. He then concluded his speech by congratulating the winning team in advance; “To everyone who will win, a heartfelt congratulations, Let the game begin,” stated Sethi.


Home Venue for the Tournament

The premier franchise T20 competition in the country will include four home stadiums for the first time since its debut in 2016. The most recent instance of this occurred in 2020, when the Covid-19 pandemic interrupted the season before it could be finished later that year.

The previous PSL season was played exclusively in Karachi and Lahore and the entire event was held in Pakistan. Multan and Rawalpindi will also be vying this year in addition to the two metropolises, which means four of the six teams Multan Sultans, Lahore Qalandars, Karachi Kings, and Islamabad United will have the advantage of playing at home. On the other hand, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators won’t have the support of their home crowd.

You May Also Read

Pakistan Set up Cricket Rematch with India after Crushing Hong Kong by 155 Runs

First Match of the Tournament

As it begins its ninth season, the PSL teams are ready to compete at their best. First match of the tournament was played by the 2021 champion; Multan Sultans taking on the reigning champion Lahore Qalandars.

At the Multan Cricket Stadium on Monday, Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans in the first game of PSL 2023.

About the Author: Marium Qureshi

Leave A Comment

continue reading

Related Posts

  • 2.3 min readPublished On: May 20, 2024
    Read More
  • 3.5 min readPublished On: April 26, 2024
    Read More
  • 4.4 min readPublished On: February 22, 2024
    Read More